Australasian Road Safety Awards

2020 Fellowship Nominations – Recognising our exemplary individuals!


2020 ACRS Fellowship Nominations open on Wednesday 1st April, 2020.

Winners to be announced at the prestigious ARSC2020 Conference Gala Dinner
Melbourne Convention and Exhibition Centre, 17 September 2020

The prestigious ACRS Fellowship is recognised as the Australasian road safety community’s highest honour, recognising an individual for their outstanding commitment and effectiveness in their efforts to reduce road trauma. The Australasian College of Road Safety first instituted the award of College Fellow in 1991. The list of Fellows since the inception of the award is a record of significant achievement by these outstanding individuals.

Fellows must be acknowledged by colleagues and co-workers as outstanding, by virtue of contributions to road safety rather than their position. The contributions must be of such a nature that they have led to substantial growth and improvement in an important institution or organisation, a body of knowledge or aspect of thought and practice associated with road safety. The award recipient is presented with a plaque and citation – there is no financial reward – but it is the College’s highest honour.

2019 ACRS Fellowship winner Professor Michael Regan, pictured with Mr Llew O’Brien, Federal Member for Wide Bay, QLD (L) and Mr Martin Small, ACRS President (R)


The criteria for the award of Fellowship to the College are:

  1. The nominee must have given evidence, over a period of at least five years, of excellence in the field of road safety so that:
    1. The nominee is acknowledged by colleagues and co-workers as outstanding by virtue of contributions to road safety (rather than their position); and
    2. The nominee’s contributions must have noticeably contributed to substantial growth and improvement in an important institution or organisation, a body of knowledge or aspect of thought and practice associated with road safety
  2. A nominee may be either a person engaged in research or a person who puts into practice the research findings of others but should be recognized nationally and/or internationally for their achievements.
  3. Nominees should be currently practising in the field of road safety. Only in exceptional circumstances should persons who are retired or on the point of retirement be nominated. If a person is making an outstanding contribution to road safety it should be acknowledged at that time.

Procedure for Nomination

  • Fellowships are awarded through a nomination procedure only. Nomination may be made by two Fellows or Members.
  • Nominations must be made on the online Fellowship Nomination Form.
  • Nominations are strictly confidential and must not be made known to the nominee. The person concerned should not be informed of their nomination until formally invited by the College President to become a Fellow.


ACRS Fellowship is not viewed as a reward for service but rather for making a distinctive contribution to the advancement of road safety. Nor is it awarded for reaching a particular position or rank.  Excellence can be found at different levels of responsibility and the criteria for Fellowship are applied in relation to the level of responsibility held by a possible candidate.  The nominee will be judged relative to those of a similar status, and the contribution made is expected to be outstanding relative to his or her peers rather than in relation to those of either higher or lower status or responsibilities.

The nominee must not be informed of his or her nomination for Fellowship of the College.